The Five Principles of Reiki

The secret art of inviting happiness, the miraculous medicine for all diseases: Just for today...

The Five Reiki Principles practiced in Reiki are based on the teachings of Emperor Meiji.  Reiki practitioners at that time were chanting the five principles and Emperor Meiji’s Gosei (emperor’s poem) in the morning and evening everyday.

Meiji became the 122nd emperor at the young age of 14 following the unexpected death of his father, Emperor Komei in 1866. In the following year of Meiji’s coronation, the 15th Shogun (Japan’s top general) of the Edo Shogunate (military government in the Edo period), Yoshinobu Tokunaga, enacted Restoration of Imperial Rule, which began the turbulent era of the Meiji Restoration.

Emperor Meiji devoted himself to reforming Japan’s politics, economy, society, education, and military. In 1890, he championed the Constitution of the Empire of Japan and the Imperial Rescript on Education (basic policy on morals and education).

Emperor Meiji was regarded as one of the most compassionate and benevolent emperors of Japan.  He practiced strict self-discipline and preferred a simple life, and reverenced by the people. Emperor Meiji is known for his love of Gosei (emperor’s poem) and have left over 93,000 poems in his lifetime.

あしはらの 国とまさむと 思ふにも 
   青人草ぞ たからなりける

Even if I want Japan’s prosperity, the most precious treasure is my people

わが民草の うえはいかにと

Whenever it’s sunny or cloudy, I worry if everybody is getting enough food or not. 

よもの海 みなはらからと 思ふ世に 
   など波風の たちさわぐらむ 

The waves and winds in different seas are all the same everywhere. Then why are there so many storms? Why do people fight each other even though we are all brothers and sisters?

心ある ひとのいさめの言の葉は

Thoughtful advice and criticisms from retinues are the best medicine for you. It is wise to listen to people’s advice.

Reiki founder, Dr. Mikao Usui understood that people do not really heal unless they change their minds.” Usui incorporated the “Five Principles” from Emperor Meiji into the teachings and practice of Reiki.

"The secret art of inviting happiness, the miraculous medicine for all diseases: Just for today..."

I – Just for today, I will not be angry.

Anger at others or oneself or at the whole world, creates serious blockages in one’s energy. It is the most complex inner enemy.  Reiki is an excellent tool to remove anger blockages which have accumulated in the body over years, but it cannot remove the residue of current anger which occurs daily. 

Letting go of anger brings peace into the Mind.

II – Just for today, I will not worry.

While anger deals with past and present events, worry deals with future ones. Although worry is not always a negative phenomena, endless worries may fill one’s head, and each one bores a small hole in one’s body and soul. While anger requires a focused Reiki treatment to remove obstacles, worry requires the energy to be spread throughout the entire body.  

Letting go of worry, brings healing into the Body.

III – Just for today, I will be grateful.

Be grateful from your hart inward. Inner intention is the important element in this principle. Simple things as thanks, forgiveness, smile, good words, gratitude can improve others life and make them happy.  

Being thankful brings Joy into the Spirit.

IV – Just for today, I will do my work honestly.

Support yourself and your family respectably, without harming others. Earn a respectable living, live a life of honor. 

Working honestly brings Abundance into the Soul.

V- Just for today, I will be kind to every living thing.

Honor your parents, honor your teachers, honor your elders. 

Being Kind brings Love into the Will.

One should follow the Five Principles of the Meiji Emperor and contemplate them in your heart.  They should be spoken twice daily, once in the morning and again in the evening. If these principles are followed you will achieve the great tranquil mind of the ancient sages.  It is important to start from a place close to you, yourself.  Don't start from something distant, like philosophy or logic.  Sit still and in silence every morning and every evening with your hands folded in Gassho, or Namaste.  Follow the great principles, and be clean and quiet.  Work on your heart and do things from the quiet space inside of you.  Anyone can access Reiki, because it begins within yourself.

Namaste is a synonym of Gassho.

Namaste is the traditional greeting when saying the word namaste with folded hands and a slight bow while gassho is the gesture, with hands pressed together in front of the chest it can be used for prayer or as a sign of greeting, gratitude, reverence, or apology. 

Don’t get angry today
For verily, verily I say unto you, he that hath the spirit of contention is not of me, but is of the Devil, who is the father of contention; and he stirreth up the hearts of men to contend with anger, one with another. Behold, this is not my doctrine, to stir up the hearts of men with anger, one against another, but this is my doctrine, that such things should be done away
3 Nephi 5:8

Don’t worry today
Therefore, I say unto you, take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat or what ye shall drink, nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat? And the body than raiment? Behold the fowls of the air, for they sow not, neither do they reap nor gather into barns; yet your Heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?
3 Nephi 6:2

Be grateful today
You shall thank the Lord your God in all things. You shall offer a sacrifice unto the Lord your God in righteousness, even that of a broken heart and a contrite spirit.
T&C 46:2

Work hard today
And again verily I say unto you that every man who is obliged to provide for his own family, let him provide and he shall in no wise lose his crown…
T&C 68:2

Be kind to others today
A new commandment I give unto you: that you love one another — as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this shall all men know that you are my disciples — if you have love one to another.
John 9:5

The five Reiki principles are both positive and negative.   The two negative points is to an abandonment of anger and fear.  The positive principles are expressions of faith, hope and charity.  

Fear, anger, and selfishness are counter opposites to faith, hope, and charity.

Fear is not only the opposite of faith, but it contains within it the bitterness of hell.  The happiest of people are those who live without fear. 

The expression of gratitude is an expression of Hope.  Gratitude is predicated on remembering both blessings received and promises given.  Hope is the confidence we have between the time a promise was given and when the blessing is realized.  Our confidence is strengthened as we remember the blessings, miracles and promises God has already made manifest.  

Kindness is a prerequisite to love.  Charity, or the pure love of Christ, is added unto kindness. Charity to all is a commitment — a determination to live a certain way and to not allow oneself to be overcome by the jealousies, envies, and all the negative things that make it so easy to excuse giving kindness to others.

One of the most  beautiful things within the mantra is, “Just for today”.  That phrase offers daily forgiveness to start again and an achievable short term goal: Just for today.  Try again.  Practice.  It’s OK.  Just for today.  

Before we realize it, many successful todays have become eternity.

Leave a Reply

You might also enjoy

Prophecies Run Together, Part II

The Midewiwin Lodge will serve as a rallying point for the people and its traditional ways will be the source of much strength. The Sacred Megis will lead the way to the chosen ground of the Anishinabe.

The Sacred Embrace

“Between your mother in the East and myself in the West, all life from beginning to end is placed. My son, you are the connection between birth and death.”